Senator Bruce Thompson Receives 2015 ACCG Legislative Service Award

ATLANTA, Ga. (Nov. 5, 2015) – ACCG, Georgia’s county association, recently honored Sen. Bruce Thompson (R-14) with a 2015 Legislative Service Award. Sen. Thompson, whose district includes portions of Cherokee, Bartow, and Cobb counties, serves as vice chairman of the Science and Technology Committee and secretary of the State Institutions and Property committees. ACCG presented the award at its District Meeting in Fulton County.



“We are elated to continue the recognition of our state leaders with the ACCG Legislative Service Awards program,” said ACCG Executive Director Ross King. “This awards program has grown tremendously and maintains its status as a prestigious honor amongst our state lawmakers.


ACCG is honoring Sen. Thompson for carrying HB 202 in the Senate. HB 202 made significant improvements to the property tax appeals process that will benefit local taxpayers. It also made several changes to improve the administration and collection of property taxes. The passage of HB 202 allowed 15 policy requests within the ACCG Policy Platform to be accomplished.


“ACCG has worked with the legislature for the past three years to make changes to the laws regarding our state’s property tax system,” said ACCG Legislative Director Clint Mueller. “We are thankful to those who have worked with county elected officials to ensure this reform was realized, especially to Sen. Thompson for his work on this legislation in the State Senate.”

Leave a Reply